Tom Youngs will make his 100th starting appearance for Leicester Tigers

Aviva Premiership Venue: Ricoh Arena Date: Saturday, 20 May Kick-off: 17:15 BSTCoverage: Live score updates on BBC local radio and on the BBC Sport website and app

Ashley Johnson and Phil Swainston start in the front row as Wasps make two changes for the Premiership semi-final.

James Gaskell, Tommy Taylor and Marty Moore return from injury to make the bench but Kearnan Myall (knee) is out.

Captain Tom Youngs will make his 100th start for Leicester, in the club’s 13th successive play-off campaign.

Mike Fitzgerald returns to the pack and Telusa Veainu starts at full-back, but JP Pietersen, Maxime Mermoz and Tom Brady miss out with injury.

As well as Myall, Wasps’ injury list also includes Jake Cooper-Woolley (toe), Sam Jones (leg), Kyle Eastmond (Achilles), Carlo Festuccia (hand), Alex Lundberg (ankle) and George Edgson (knee).

Tigers have forward Ed Slater in their squad after his recovery from injury.

In the regular season, Wasps won both games – 34-22 at Welford Road in September and 22-16 at the Ricoh Arena in January.

Wasps director of rugby Dai Young told BBC Coventry & Warwickshire:

“This is what you play rugby for and graft through a nine-month season – to give yourselves the chance of getting to Twickenham.

“We’re not underestimating the task. Leicester will certainly look forward to coming to the Ricoh and upsetting the party, but it’s up to us to make sure we play to the best of our ability.

“I believe if we play like we have for 90% of this season I think we’ll get the result, but we’re not taking anything for granted.”

Leicester head coach Matt O’Connor told BBC Radio Leicester:

“The guys have got a lot of confidence from the last time we went to the Ricoh.

“We know the enormity of the challenge. Wasps are very dangerous, they’ve got world-class players across the back line, who can score from anywhere and have a very abrasive forward pack that is really competent at the set piece. You don’t end up top of the league by chance.

“It’s a start point for us – it’s certainly not an end point for this group. They’ve worked incredibly hard to get to this point but they understand this is only the beginning of the journey.”

Wasps: Beale; Wade, Daly, Gopperth, Le Roux; Cipriani, Simpson; Mullan, Johnson, Swainston; Launchbury (capt), Symons; Haskell, Young, Hughes.

Replacements: Taylor, McIntyre, Moore, Gaskell, Thompson, Robson, Leiua, Bassett.

Leicester: Veainu; Thompstone, Tait, O. Williams, Betham; Burns, B. Youngs; Genge, T. Youngs (capt), Cole; Barrow, Kitchener; Fitzgerald, O’Connor, Hamilton.

Replacements: McGuigan, Bateman, Balmain, Slater, M. Williams, Harrison, Roberts, Smith.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here